Tranferring vinyl to digital - the utter beginner's thread

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by tvstrategies, Mar 19, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tvstrategies

tvstrategies Turtles, all the way down. Thread Starter

Hi - I imagine many people in this forum are expert at ripping vinyl to digital, but I'm a rank beginner (knowledge level ~2 out of a possible 10), and would prefer not to jump into an 'advanced topics' thread until I learn the basics.

What I have:
    - Dual 1219 with Ortofon 2M Blue and 1970s-vintage Discwasher
    - Rega Fono Mini with analog stereo-in, USB-out and analog stereo-out
    - Macbook Pro
    - Audacity software and the standard open-source codecs (e.g. LAME)

I do know some rudimentary editing in Audacity, such as how to separate songs in a concert with fade-ins and fade-outs, but don't know how to record or make adjustments in the sound. After I get some experience at this, I'm willing to invest in paid software, and try other formats (and I'll take recommendations).

Anyone game to help a beginner get started? Thanks in advance!

Questions:

- After I open Audacity, what do I do first? What settings do I use in my software?
    - How do I start a recording and how do I finish?
    - What are some basic 'best practices' that everyone should follow?
    - Can I rely on the software to separate the tracks, and not confuse it with quiet passages in the music?
    - How do I get rid of pops and scratches without compromising audio quality?
    - What are some 'must use' filters in Audacity? How are they used and why?
    - Are there any 'must have' third party audio filters?

- I know I should record 'flat,' without any EQ adjustments - I can do that later
    - I know I want a lossless file format - even I can tell the difference between an original and MP3-320
    - I want to record in an 'archival' format that can survive the test of time (AIFF? WAV?)