Tube amp = on/off protocol

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Guillaume Bougard, Nov 24, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Guillaume Bougard

Guillaume Bougard Forum Resident Thread Starter

Hi

I'm new to tube amps and I have what will probably seem like a silly question so please bear with me and give me the facts:

is it better to leave it on at all times or to turn it off and back on?

2. action pact

action pact Music Omnivore

Firing it on and off puts stress on the tubes, but you also don't want to unnecessarily 'waste' the tubes.

Leave it on if you're planning to use it again within the hour, otherwise turn it off. They do tend to sound better the longer they're left on.

gregr likes this.
  3. Tyler Eaves

Tyler Eaves Forum Resident

Keep in mind the life of most tubes is on the order of 2000-5000 hours. So unless you feel like spending a few hundred bucks at least once a year to re-tube.... That's ignore the significant fire hazard, as well. Tubes give off a lot of heat. Some amps (mostly guitar amps, not hifi stuff though) have a stand-by switch that will keep the tubes 'lit' but not apply any extra voltage. Probably the best of both worlds. Still wouldn't leave 'em on overnight.

EasterEverywhere likes this.
  4. VinylRob

VinylRob Forum Resident

There are few silly questions, welcome from the dark side (SS) and into the light. I'm sure you will enjoy your stay.

Some small signal tubes offer upwards of 10k hour lifetimes. My OTL power tubes 6AS7G/6H13C last some seven years.

+1 on action pact's post.

Happy Listening!

Last edited: Nov 24, 2014
    EasterEverywhere likes this.
  5. Gabe Walters

Gabe Walters Forum Resident

6. Defdum&blind

Defdum&blind Forum Resident