Upgrading the turntable

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Isaac Peltz, Mar 5, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Isaac Peltz

Isaac Peltz New Member Thread Starter

Hey, so I'm still new to turntables and upgrading the gear that I have, so i was wondering if folks had an opinion on what I could buy without breaking the bank. I want to upgrade the cartridge I have on my turntable, but I don't want to spend... 800 dollars on it. Any suggestions on what's good quality to look for at the moment? Or would it just be smart to save up and get something super high end?

2. theron d

theron d Forum Resident

What cartridge and turntable do you currently have?

timztunz likes this.
  3. timztunz

timztunz Audioista

Your profile doesn't mention a turntable. What are you running now (turntable, cartridge, phono stage)? What are you missing from your current musical experience that you want to achieve with this upgrade?

4. timztunz

timztunz Audioista

:wave:
    Nice! 1 minute faster than me!

theron d likes this.
  5. theron d

theron d Forum Resident

Isaac if you are using a tehnics 1200 or similar model I suggest one these three:
    1.AT120E
    2. Denon DL-110
    3.Shure M97xE with added on Jico SAS stylus

Mikay likes this.
  6. Mikay

Mikay Active Member

Here's another vote for the Denon DL-110, which is a high output moving coil. You could also go with a 'regular' moving coil, requiring an additional pre-amp.

As others have asked, what is your current turntable and cartridge, and what kind of music do you usually listen to? Also describe the rest of your system, it might help us figure out some more precise suggestions.

And, apart from not wanting to spend $800, what *is* your budget for this upgrade?

7. Isaac Peltz

Haha, sorry I have a AT-LP120 turntable. It sounds good, I tend to like everything audio technica does, it's always good quality. Forgot to mention that up top.

8. DigMyGroove

DigMyGroove Forum Resident