Using Kodak Photo-Flo in Record Cleaning

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Dalziel53, Jan 19, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dalziel53

Dalziel53 Senior Member Thread Starter

I found the following reference to Kodak Photo-Flo which indicates that people have found problems with it. Anybody find this to be the case?

Taken from here:
    https://londonjazzcollector.wordpress.com/for-audiophiles/home-brew-cleaner-for-vacuum-rcms/

Note: The US equivalent wetting product from Kodak, “Photo-flo” is specifically not recommended due to its ingredients containing chemicals which remain as a coating on the surface, which will contaminate the stylus tip. I have no personal knowledge of its effects but it seems well documented, though as with everything, the internet can be an echo-chamber of misinformation. One writer even suggested the vinyl groove needs “lubrication” to smooth the travel of the stylus (think car engines) whereas the whole purpose of cleaning is to ensure naked contact between the stylus and the information encoded into the grooves, and nothing between the two, hence alcohol dissolving any contaminants which are then vacuumed away.

Randoms likes this.
  2. chervokas

chervokas Senior Member

Well, lubrication that reduces stylus/groove friction definitely reduces the artifacts of stylus/groove friction -- random pops and certain kinds of mechanical noise. But I have yet to find a lubricating substance that doesn't have other problems such as leaving behind a residue that cakes a stylus or real challenges with application, etc. Last Record Preservative, which doesn't claim to reduce friction, does seem to clean up high end into (it claims to reduce IMD), doesn't leave behind any kind of visible residue on the stylus and is very easy to apply. Stylast stylus treatment, also from Last, does claim to reduce friction, but I haven't tried it in years. Perhaps worth a shot.