Vinyl quality ......

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Villorejo81, Feb 5, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Villorejo81

Villorejo81 Active Member Thread Starter

I’m a bit new to the wonderfull world of vinyl and I have a question regarding the sound quality.
    I have started recently my vinyl collection and have close to 100 now. I try to buy the vinyl from the year it was first published as I like the idea.
    I try to buy vinyl that are close to NM conditions but the quality of the sound is sometimes a bit random even if from a visual inspection they seem fine. I of course clean the vinyl before playing the first time but even after this process the quality on some are just not great.

What am I not doing right? Do i just need to clean them better? Is it just wear of the vinyl? Should I buy only new vinyl? Do I need to adjust the hardware?

Any support appreciated

2. Tullman

Tullman Senior Member

Fill in your equipment profile.

3. colby2415

colby2415 Forum Resident

Some times when sellers grade stuff NM or VG+, it's sometimes just visually graded. While some may say groove damage can be visible, I've had almost brand new looking records that were distorted and crackly as hell, even after properly cleaning my records with a RCM/enzyme cleaner. Recent example is that I bought a NM copy of Bee Gees Main Course, and it definitely looks like it's in great shape, but it sounds worse than my VG copy that is pretty scraped up from mishandling. Honestly, I think it depends on how the original owner took care of their stuff, and what type of turntable they had, etc. Hopefully someone can chime in about what groove damage could look like, by IME pristine records don't always sound better than beat up ones.

4. KT88

KT88 Senior Member

Agreed. Equipment is important and we can't see it.
    -Bill

5. patient_ot

patient_ot Senior Member