Vinyl sibilance distortion...

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by dconsmack, Jan 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dconsmack

dconsmack Senior Member Thread Starter

Is it possible to ever be free of sibilance distortion?
    1. Is it the pressing?
    2. Is it the VTA?
    3. Is it my cart (Sumiko Blackbird)
    4. Is sibilance distortion a result of mistracking, and if so, does it damage the grooves every time?

Here are my observations: I hear it somewhere in every LP I own. My alignment is dead on using the Mint LP Best Tractor as well as all the other parameters. The one I have little experience with is VTA adjustment. My setting has the the back of the arm about 1mm lower than level. Will VTA adjustment really cure distortion if everything else is set up right?
    On another note, am I correct in noticing that the pressing itself can be the source of the distortion? I did a needle drop of a brand new Them Crooked Vultures LP and there's sibilance distortion all over it. However, it includes an MP3 download code of the album, and it's a vinyl source. The MP3 has the sibilance problems in the same spots! The CD release does not exhibit the "splatty" distortions.
    I have a Sumiko Blackbird, which I like the tonality of, but have read that is not a great tracker. Is this the problem? I don't get any "inner groove" distortion though. Any recommendations to a similar class of cart, but without problems?
    So, will distortion always be there, regardless of gear and set up - even on a new pressing?
    Anyway, I'm still fairly new to this stuff so anyones perspective is really appreciated.

2. phallumontis

phallumontis Active Member

It should not be there. There is something wrong with your setup. How old is the stylus on the Sumiko? Check your VTA as well.

Also, fill out your equipment profile so we can help determine what's going on in your setup.

3. ducatirider

ducatirider Member