What characterizes a "Jeff Lynne" production?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by stereoptic, Jul 24, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stereoptic

stereoptic Anaglyphic GORT Staff Thread Starter

Why am I able to identify one of Jeff Lynne's productions within a few seconds of listening? I was listening to Roy Orbison 's Mystery Girl the other night, half-forgetting that it was one of Jeff Lynne's productions. I am not a musician or a recording engineer, so I can't easily recognize any production technique, per se. From what I hear when I listen, is that he uses a lot of "heavenly" style background vocals on the choruses, guitar strum and snare drum (with a bit of echo) rhythm, overall sound is not too bassy, strings (violins, etc) here and there (occasional "Beatlesque" sounding). But in addition to all of that, what does he do to the sound that makes it so identifiable (to me at least)?

DK Pete, hi_watt and Rockford & Roll like this.
  2. Dave D

Dave D Done!

Steve would be your man for this .......but I can tell you how I identify it.
    His drum sound is always the same.....it almost sounds like he sticks a mic on the snare, one above the drummer, and that's it! It's almost a mono drum sound.....and VERY compressed! His acoustic guitars always have that real glistening sound.....I wish I knew how he got that. He also always has some kind of descending riff on a 12 string or 6 string electric....real clean and echoey. Think "You Got It" or "This Is Love" from Cloud 9. Plus those Jeff Lynne layered (quite messily) background vocals!

hi_watt and Rockford & Roll like this.
  3. Prettyboyfloyd

Prettyboyfloyd New Member

Get George Harrison's last LP "Brainwashed" Lynn's stye & production is all over it! It's a very good album, second only to "All Things Must Pass"

hi_watt likes this.
  4. reechie

reechie Senior Member

Here's an old thread that might answer some of your questions: