What is the best way to reduce turntable rumble on vinyl rips

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by cdgoldmine, Jul 19, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cdgoldmine

cdgoldmine Active Member Thread Starter

Does anyone who does vinyl rips have a solid method to reduce turntable rumble, or hum, or whatever you want to call it? When I search on the internet for this I get a lot of garbage, so I was hoping someone can point me in the right direction. Is there a method on Audacity, Cool Edit Pro, or any other software? Do pre-amps do this? I have a turntable going through a receiver. I've been doing vinyl rips for many, many years. But I still haven't figured this one out. Thanks.

2. Optimize

Optimize Forum Resident

3. Rumble?
    What's causing it?
    Does the bearing need lubricating?
    Hum?
    What's causing it?
    Is there an issue with the receiver?
    Is there a cabling issue between the TT and the receiver?

Lots of questions, and I haven't mentioned software until just now.

timind and Optimize like this.
  4. Pastafarian

Pastafarian Forum Resident

I've tried using iZotope, which is fantastic for many things but rumble's a real problem, if it's throughout the track as you find it hard not to take out low frequencies in the music.

5. Optimize

Optimize Forum Resident

Yes I also thought in those lines.
    A interesting question is how many hours between cleaning out old oil and replacing with new one. Maybe the thread starter has not done it in a while?

Rumble is subsonic and there are RIAA with subsonic filters.

The FRiNgE and russk like this.
  6. russk

russk Forum Resident

A rumble filter.

KT88, Cliff and Optimize like this.
  7. Pastafarian

Pastafarian Forum Resident

The problem is music is in that range, you will notice the track has been neutered.

8. Optimize

Optimize Forum Resident