Which protractor to use ? (DUAL CS-750)

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by hlennarz, Jan 18, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hlennarz

hlennarz Forum Resident Thread Starter

Today I bought a nice Dual CS-750 turntable in almost mint condition for 25€. The store owner had no idea how to value the thing... :D

Anyway, wich protractor should I use ? I'm not that experienced with that stuff. I used
    "Rega Baerwald alignment protractor v.2"
    from Vinylengine. For the sole reason that it was the closest to the 221mm arm lenght. I have no idea how to use their generator program. :confused:

Last edited: Jan 18, 2018
  2. Davey

Davey NP: Hania Rani ~ Ghosts (2023 LP)

You can go back to vinylengine and check the specs for arm effective length and overhang, they are below ...

Description
    Features microprocessor control and aluminium tubular tonearm

Specifications
    Drive: microprocessor controlled quartz belt drive

Speeds: 33, 45 and 78rpm

Wow and flutter: 0.023% WRMS

Rumble: 80dB

Platter: 302mm non magnetic

Effective length: 221mm

Overhang: 18mm

Then go to the Conrad Hoffman site ... Conrad's Free Stuff ... and download the arc protractor generator. Run it and plug in the spindle to pivot distance, which should be the effective length from above minus the overhang, or 203mm (you could measure to be sure, if you have the tools), and select the alignment you want and what groove radius you want to optimize for (DIN/IEC/Typical). Then print and verify scaling.

And you should then wind up with something like below, this is my table, but you get the idea, just adjust the overhang and platter/protractor position until the stylus tip follows the arc, and then without moving the platter or protractor anymore, set offset at one of the grids, and double check at the other grid, and then check arc again before final tightening of screws...

[​IMG]

3. hlennarz