Why Do Musicians Get Replaced In The Studio?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by dkmonroe, Feb 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot Thread Starter

I was reading one of Metalbob's posts regarding Winger's guitarist playing all the guitars on a Twisted Sister album, and it got me thinking - why does this happen?

I think I understand the reasoning in some of these instances - Hunter/Wagner replacing Glen Buxton and either Hunter or Wagner replacing Joe Perry and Hunter/Wagner replacing anybody whose ever been produced by Bob Ezrin except perhaps David Gilmour, but what are some of the other instances that you know of where this happened?

If you have seen this, how does the replaced musician generally take it? Or do they even know?

2. bluesbro

bluesbro Forum Hall of Shame

In a nutshell, they are not good enough. Paul McCartney used to replace other Beatles while recording his songs in the last years of the fab four.

3. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot Thread Starter

What, all the Beatles sucked except Paul? I really don't think that stands up to scrutiny. More likely it was just easier for Paul to do his own songs. Not the same as a producer interjecting an outside player into the band, which is what I'm thinking of.

4. nosticker

nosticker Forum Guy

Basically, what makes an exciting live player can make a horrendous studio player. Other little anomalies can creep in. So much just flies past the audience in a live situation.

Other times, a producer may be looking for a specific feel or sound that the band member cannot provide. Others simply tense up, and therefore choke up, as the tape rolls.

Dan

5. deadbirdie

deadbirdie Senior Member