Yamaha A-S3000 arrived...

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Daedalus, Jan 14, 2017.

  1. coopmv

    coopmv Newton 1/30/2001 - 8/31/2011

    Location:
    CT, USA
    Strongly :agree:.

    The only amp I have ever had that had power meters was my first amp, a Kenwood integrated back in the mid 80's. That was many amps ago ...
     
  2. PTW

    PTW New Member

    Location:
    Abingdon, UK
    Just to complete my saga of the two Yamaha A-S3000s, both of which went permanently into protect mode after a few hours - I decided not to ask for a third, and gave up. Shame, as it was a beautiful lump of gear.
     
  3. coopmv

    coopmv Newton 1/30/2001 - 8/31/2011

    Location:
    CT, USA
    What a shame! This is not the Yamaha I used to know ...
     
  4. Erik Tracy

    Erik Tracy Forum Resident

    Location:
    San Diego, CA, USA
    Dang...that is not a good sign for the product as a whole.

    My condolences.

    You have an alternate?
     
  5. PTW

    PTW New Member

    Location:
    Abingdon, UK
    I looked hard for an alternative integrated amp (e.g. Musical Fidelity M6si, Arcam A49, Marantz PM-11S3, perhaps Denon PMA-2500NE), but couldn't find one that had all the required inputs and outputs. My requirements are a bit unusual as I have retrophile headphones (Stax SR-3) that require a loudspeaker output, and two recording devices (cassette tape and Minidisc, not that I ever use them now).

    One option had always been to live with my last-millennium Audiolab 8000S integrated amp until it actually fails for good. It has been refurbished by a local specialist, who swears by the original British 1990s models and bemoans an overall lowering of build quality (in particular lower-grade components) in most brands since then. But it occurred to me that if I were to add a pair of monoblocks I could have the power boost I desired and retain the flexible inputs, the best of both worlds.

    The aforementioned Audiolab specialist happened to have a brand new 1997 8000PX freestanding stereo power amp, and I bought that off him (after he made a few preemptive improvements) for a fraction what I was planning to spend. Totally unexpected.

    Needless to say it all works perfectly, though I suspect the Audiolab's secret weapon compared with the Yamaha is that it doesn't have a computer inside it! And the mode switch on the front of the 8000S allows me to select headphones + internal power amp, speakers + 8000PX power amp or indeed both at once, with no switch contacts between amplifiers and speakers. The only inconvenience is that the Audiolab units are too old to have auto standby or automatic on/off facilities, so they both need to be switched on and off before and after use. They both have relays to delay connection, so there are no thumps or clicks - all very civilized.
     
  6. coopmv

    coopmv Newton 1/30/2001 - 8/31/2011

    Location:
    CT, USA
    It is nice to hear another person that shares my view about present-day audio gears - declining overall build quality ...
     
  7. RPM

    RPM Active Member

    Location:
    Easter Island
    Are you saying Yamaha A-S3000 suited those needs? Afais it also has no tape loop.
    Have you checked Luxman 505ux? At least one tape loop there. MK2 on the way.
     
  8. F1nut

    F1nut Forum Resident

    Location:
    The Mars Hotel
    I'd have say from looking at the guts that the build quality is there in spades, but there seems to be a circuit design flaw, which certainly wasn't uncommon in vintage gear either.
     
  9. PTW

    PTW New Member

    Location:
    Abingdon, UK
    Yes, I did look at the Luxman 505ux but forgot to include it in my list. I can't recall what the gotcha was, if any. IIRC it had one recording output, like the Yamaha, so I could at least have one of my antediluvian devices hooked up. Revisiting that option, it certainly looks like a contender.
     
  10. Classicrock

    Classicrock Forum Resident

    Location:
    South West, UK.
    You can leave them on safely as they are not class A and are solid state. Won't use much power. There is plenty new specialist gear that doesn't run on computers. Can't see that helps SQ. Frankly can't see that Audiolab has more inputs than the bigger MF amd Arcam models (ex 8000A owner). Only thing I can say is that you can get much better sound than the Audiolabs for less the the £4K the Yamaha cost. It the Yam was not a bit of a revelation compared to the Audiolab it probably wasn't that good.
     
  11. RPM

    RPM Active Member

    Location:
    Easter Island
    The difference is that Luxman has real tape monitor loop, Yamaha doesn't, so you can't listen the recorded material during the recording process. Also you can't hook up equalizer on the Yamaha.
     
  12. coopmv

    coopmv Newton 1/30/2001 - 8/31/2011

    Location:
    CT, USA
    You may be right if you only look at the real high-end gears, i.e. anything north of $3000 or more ...
     
  13. coopmv

    coopmv Newton 1/30/2001 - 8/31/2011

    Location:
    CT, USA
    BTW, Luxman is only a Japanese company in name only nowadays. It was bought out a few years ago ...
     
  14. RPM

    RPM Active Member

    Location:
    Easter Island
    It is still made in Japan. And designed, too, I assume.
     
  15. coopmv

    coopmv Newton 1/30/2001 - 8/31/2011

    Location:
    CT, USA
    I heard it is made in Malaysia though the design is still done in Japan ...
     
  16. RPM

    RPM Active Member

    Location:
    Easter Island
    Yamaha is made in Malaysia, Luxman in Japan.
     
  17. ggergm

    ggergm Forum Resident

    Location:
    Minnesota
    The money for Luxman comes from China. The product is made in Japan. Yamaha's ownership remains in Japan. Much of its electronics is made in Malaysia.

    All of this is completely irrelevant.

    We discussed the Malaysia issue upthread and it's a total red herring. Beyond that, is Chinese money better than Japanese money? If anything, Luxman has come out with new products which rededicate the company to their high end heritage and echo their classic components. McIntosh, which has been bought and sold a couple of times, shows what enlightened ownership can do to reinvigorate a staid company into developing products which are at least as good if not better than their past triumphs. What we need to do is focus on the new products these companies make rather than history, ownership and the country of manufacture.
     
    sfoclt and ThorensSme like this.
  18. Daedalus

    Daedalus Forum Resident Thread Starter

    Sorry to hear about your problems. Cross fingers-mine is ok so far. Last night I hooked up my Soliloquy speakers to this amp. I have the original speaker designed by Dennis Had. I just replaced the tweeters ( Scanspeak silkdome) and will break them in. These speakers image very very well. Listened this AM to Chopin's Noctures performed by Pires. Excellent.
     
    sfoclt likes this.
  19. coopmv

    coopmv Newton 1/30/2001 - 8/31/2011

    Location:
    CT, USA
    That made in Japan for Luxman is a bit flimsy these days since Luxman is now owned by a company from a country that is well-known for corners cutting ...
     
  20. Classicrock

    Classicrock Forum Resident

    Location:
    South West, UK.
    Based on all the YouTube videos of the 3000 and 2100 I wouldn't even bother an audition. Every system hints at a thin bright sound to impress in the showroom. There is just no warmth or body. Of course could be they all use same bad mikes or dacs? Too much of a coincidence I think.
     
  21. sfoclt

    sfoclt Member

    Pure noise.
     
    ThorensSme likes this.
  22. T'mershi Duween

    T'mershi Duween Forum Resident

    Location:
    Y'allywood
    Audio playback from a YouTube video is probably not the best way to determine what something actually "sounds" like.
     
  23. Daedalus

    Daedalus Forum Resident Thread Starter

    I don't hear thin bright unless the recording is thin and bright. These amps are pretty true to source in my experience with them over several months of ownership.
     
  24. ThorensSme

    ThorensSme Active Member

    Location:
    Seattle
    Pretty awful way to make a judgment on something you haven't heard in real life. I own the A-S1100, baby brother to the A-S3000. I would never describe this amp as thin or bright. In fact the bass is quite prodigious if your speakers are up to the task, and the midrange has just a hint of warmth and plenty of body. In fact, coming from a line magnetic tube amp, this thing has more in common with a great KT-88 based amp than anything.

    Really unfortunate about the A-S3000 failures, enough of this happening around the web and different reports, that it obviously had some issues, possibly a circuit design or faulty part that made its way into a batch of units. Hope they figure it out. For $7k you should get a product that works perfectly and lasts a lifetime (a la McIntosh.)
     
    lonelysea, F1nut and T'mershi Duween like this.
  25. Thouston

    Thouston Well-Known Member

    Location:
    Mattoon, IL
    What a crock of s__t. I have an A-S2100. It is far from thin and bright.
     
    DaleClark, lonelysea and F1nut like this.

Share This Page