Yes and Gentle Giant: Compare/Contrast

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by JimW, Oct 13, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JimW

JimW In the Process of Becoming Thread Starter

Long time Yeshead here, never clicked w/ GG back in the day. But being a multi-channel fanatic and a big fan of Master Wilson, I got Power and Glory and was blown away. That led to Octopuss and now Three Suites. I really like the music- and the visuals really help (I love having the lyrics, esp. the cool way they were done on P&G).

So, I'm just beginning my GG journey. I'd love to hear from fans of both bands. I know like Yes, GG's music will only grow w/ repeated exposure. But listening time has much more competition these days and nothing can replace the deep connection that can grow over decades. Who got into both back when?

My intial feelings: GG pushes the limits even more than Yes, both musically (esp. rhythmically) and in disdain for commercial concerns. GG is much darker; I believe the result of much more use of minor keys??? GG is more free flowing; Yes is more structured.

Hope to hear some other more informed perspectives...

izgoblin likes this.
  2. Gentle Giant were more willing to take risks than Yes -who were no slouches either and took a big risk with Tales.

JimW likes this.