Your Opinions: New Integrated Amps: McIntosh vs Hegel vs Plinius

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Joey_Corleone, May 27, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Joey_Corleone

Joey_Corleone Forum Resident Thread Starter

I would love to hear what you have to say about the integrated offerings from these companies. These are three I have looked into considerably, and am thinking about for a considerable power upgrade to my system.

1) McIntosh MA-8000 - 300 WPC, integrated DAC, $10k list
    2) McIntosh MA-7000 - 250 WPC, no DAC, $8k
    3) Hegel H300 - 300 WPC, integrated DAC, $5700
    4) Plinius Hautonga - 200 WPC, no DAC, $5700

I have never owned "high end" stuff like this, so I am a bit new to it. My current speakers are only $1400 a pair Canton GLE 490.2's , but one goal of this project is to put a solid foundation in place such that I can rock better speakers at a later time. Whatever I choose must have HT bypass functionality as well to integrate with my HT AVR. As far as I am aware, all of these do that.

I love the McIntosh style, brand, and reputation. I have only heard one in very horrific conditions in a showroom and wasn't really that impressed. Granted, it was the WORST environment. Basically, you walk in through glass doors / walls into a huge lobby and they have a rack of Mc gear. Anyways, I would't mind saving up for another YEAR if I knew for sure that was what I wanted...I'm just not convinced I would be getting much more than style and flowing blue meters for that much more $. On the other hand, I could outright buy the Hegel or Plinius very soon.