Yow! Check this out

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Ian, Mar 16, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ian

Ian Active Member Thread Starter

2. Ed Bishop

Ed Bishop Incredibly, I'm still here

Ian,

Be thankful you are. I've been collecting for a few years, and I don't remember ever seeing a collector stack vinyl like that... In fact, where I come from that's tantamount to rape and assault! Regardless of the titles, just that photo alone would send me away screaming....that, and no gradings(sold *as is*--right!)and no honest listing of what's included.

That the reserve has already been met proves something Barnum once said, but I'll leave it at that...:rolleyes:

ED:cool:

3. Ian

Ian Active Member Thread Starter

Ed,

Good point.

4. rontokyo

rontokyo Senior Member

The bid is at $400-something now. At 40 cents/per, it seems the risk is minimal. The only way you'd get burned is if they're all thrashed--which I suppose is a real possibility. . . .

5. Ed Bishop

There's one more problem: the cost of shipping. 1K's worth of Lp vinyl weighs a freakin' ton, and unless you live close to the seller, boy o boy, think of the freight...:eek: There would have to be some Very Special Pieces in there for me to even give it a second thought, but I have a suspicion it's no accident some Elvis covers are shown, and not much else.
    And I don't see anything rare. That's the type of stash that, if I find it at some dump of a flea market or Goodwill, I give it a quick going over, but usually it's all beaten up. And even if this stuff isn't in *bad* shape, that photo just drives me crazy. If I were going to sell that amount of plastic in bulk, that's not the photo I use to put across what a great buy it is. But, somehow, there seems to be a real bid on it.

6. rontokyo

rontokyo Senior Member