Classical Corner Classical Music Corner (thread #56)

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by George P, May 27, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Collector Man

Collector Man Well-Known Member

Cuts to musical scores are something I am very fierce about. In recording back around the 50's & 60's ...'a near enough..that will be sufficient' approach was the norm too often, for not only many an opera score ...........but for....what will surprise some people. a few orchestral works as well.
    Gliere's 3rd Symphony was just one example where it was savagely cut when first recorded..
    The repeats in scores. we take for granted - in so many recordings were at that time, not 'a given' .
    The 'near enough' attitude when I was a professional performers' agent... I truly hit the roof one day when a artist I represented, ..(then .going to appear in a series of staged production performances...said to me : " Can you JUST tape the bits that I will be appearing in?"
    Needless to say I bluntly refused. And some people have the cheek to call themselves "professionals>???!!"
    Subsequently this artist got stuck in a career 'rut'....any wonder why, with such attitude?

2. drh

drh Talking Machine