Classical Corner Classical Music Corner (thread #57)

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by George P, Jul 1, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mr Bass

Mr Bass Chevelle Ma Belle

Guillaume Dufay: Music of Burgundy. Beckett, Musica Reservata, Philips.

Jantina Noorman's voice has a plaintive quality suited to these songs.

[​IMG]

2. John S

John S Forum Resident

I worked as a rackjobber in the mid-seventies, so I witnessed the market's transition from 8-track to cassette. Seeing the quality cassettes pictured here is kind of a revelation to me, as none of the big-box accounts I serviced in those days had any need for classical music in any format. In my experience, cassettes were seen as a more reliable mobile format, not as a deliverer of quality audio in the home. For close to 30 years, the LP was the only practical format for quality. Some of my more well-heeled audiophile friends were playing some reel-to-reel, and they sounded mighty fine. But they were expensive and selection was limited.

EasterEverywhere and geralmar like this.
  3. alankin1

alankin1 Forum Resident

Now playing:
    Ludwig van Beethoven
    — Piano Concerto No.5 Op.73 "Emperor" — Vienna Symphony Orchestra — Zubin Mehta
    — Choral Fantasy Op.80 — Stuttgart Philharmonic Orchestra, Stuttgart Lehrergesangverein — Wilfried Boettcher
    Alfred Brendel
    , piano (Brilliant Classics — Vox)

[​IMG]

4. bluemooze

bluemooze Senior Member

:righton:

5. bluemooze

bluemooze Senior Member

Now on the turntable, "Dowland - A Pilgrimes Solace 1612" performed by The Consort Of Musicke on L'Oiseau-Lyre.

(The lovely and talented) Emma Kirkby - soprano
    Glenda Simpson - soprano
    John York Skinner - countertenor
    Martyn Hill - tenor
    David Thomas - bass

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

ToddBD and Joe071 like this.
  6. bluemooze

bluemooze Senior Member