Pink Floyd - "The Endless River" -- New Release October 2014 (Part Two)

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Mark, Jul 9, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

I was a "disco sucks" type of person and I never thought that "Run Like Hell" was disco until the local record store owner pointed it out to me. :laugh:

Part of being a "disco sucks" person in the 70's was having blinders on. One of my favorite songs at one time was BadCo's, "Rock'n'Roll Fantasy", which was also really, obviously disco-fied. Another important factor was being between 14 and 18 and being willing to rationalize uncomfortable truths. :laugh:

2. Mike Visco

Mike Visco Forum Resident

My band covered that Bad Company song and I played bass. No way was that disco at least from the bass line.

Rooster_Ties likes this.
  3. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

You could play it without all the synthy stuff and have it not sound "disco", but the original recording has a disco sound to it. It wasn't so much a disco song as a disco production, hence my term, "disco-fied."

4. TheLazenby

TheLazenby Forum Resident In Memoriam

"Run Like Hell" doesn't bother me, that doesn't scream 'disco' to me, necessarily. (Another Brick 2 is more of a disco cash-in... and it worked, obviously.)

5. Rfreeman

Rfreeman Senior Member

Never remotely considered Run Like Hell or Another Brick a disco track back in the day. Sure they had the 4 on the floor beat, but none of the other attributes of the genre (and I'm not elevating the tracks by saying that - as late 70s double albums go, I enjoy the SNF soundtrack way more than I enjoy The Wall).

6. redflag

redflag Forum Resident

He's been out of the band longer than he was in it. I am sure the majority of fans and the general music buying public are aware (those that care anyway) that Roger's not on this album.