Record Collector U.K. / Goldmine U.S. - Vinyl grading systems

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Chris R, Sep 12, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chris R

Chris R Forum Fones Thread Starter

As most of you know, I have had some terrible experiences recently on eBay, so I thought I'd start a thread and we can discuss vinyl grading. I'll keep the descriptions to the actual vinyl itself, and not the LP jackets.

There are two systems that I am aware of.

1. Record Collector Magazine U.K.

Mint - The record itself is in brand new condition with no surface marks or deterioration of sound quality.

Excellent - The record shows some signs of having been played but there is lessening of sound quality.

Very Good (VG) - The record has obviously been played many times but displays no deterioration of sound quality, despite noticeable surface marks and an occasional light scratch.

Good - The record has been played so much the sound quallity has noticeably deteriorated perhaps with some distortion and mild scratches.

Fair - The record is still just playable but has not been cared for properly and displays considerable surface noise. It may even jump.

Poor - The record will not play properly due to scratches, bad surface noise, etc.

Bad - The record is unplayable and might even be broken and is only of use as a collection filler.

2. Goldmine Magazine Vinyl Grading System I wish they had a Coles Notes version of their grading system.

Mint or M - Perfect! A mint record should look like it has just left the manufacturer, with NO flaws what so ever. It should look as though it had never been handled. No scuffs or scratches, blotches or stains.