Classical Corner Classical Music Corner (thread #62)

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by George P, Oct 27, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. coopmv

coopmv Newton 1/30/2001 - 8/31/2011

Finally getting to this box, now playing CD1 for a first listen ...

[​IMG]

ToddBD, Mik, Soulpope and 2 others like this.
  2. Moonfish

Moonfish Forum Resident

Haydn: Symphonies Nos 82 & 87 BP/Karajan

[​IMG]

Mik, Bachtoven and bluemooze like this.
  3. john greenwood

john greenwood Senior Member

Great performances; less than stellar mastering. I believe the outside of the box made some reference to a remastering, but such is not the case. It is the Essential Classics mastering from the 1990's. It's too bad as some of the subsequent remastering Sony did for Szell really disclosed what was on the tape.

4. john greenwood

What's more, it was a free ticket. She sounded a bit gimmicky. The recital got a mixed review in the Times.

I have a subscription to the Y's Keyboard Artists series this season. Denk last night, Biss in January, Hamelin in February, Lugansky[?] in March.

Scott Wheeler likes this.
  5. EasterEverywhere

EasterEverywhere Forum Resident

I find the cover of that Warner CD very interesting.They are resurrecting the Angel logo,as it appeared on the later LPs in the 80s,and they have it positioned much like the thrift and UK export covers from the early 1950s.I need to put on the 1981 HvK Berlin LP of the Sibelius 2 since I have that handy.

Last edited: Nov 16, 2014
  6. EasterEverywhere

EasterEverywhere Forum Resident

Must be nice to have a local record store that sells stuff like this.I bought a copy on Amazon a few weeks ago that's still in my "to play" pile.

Here is where it was recorded.
    http://www.emil-berliner-studios.com/en/meistersaal.html

7. coopmv

Now playing the following CD from my JS Bach collection for a second listen ...

[​IMG]

bluemooze and Soulpope like this.
  8. RelayerNJ

RelayerNJ Forum Resident