My subwoofer hates my turntable

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Dennis0675, Jan 6, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dennis0675

Dennis0675 Hyperactive! Thread Starter

I have a REL sub that only produces a bad feedback or flutter no mater what setting, input or combination of both I have it set on.

I have literally set it up in a different room from the than the turntable so I don't think isolation is the problem.

I am going from the TT to a Music fidelity phono stage to a Denon AVR 980 to a B&K amp.

There are three ways to connect to the REL. .1/lef input, low level input (both go directly from the Denon as the 5.1 surround option) and a high level input that connects to the left and right channel on the B&K.

I am thinking that the problem as to be in the Denon. Anyone know of an adjustment in the setting in the Denon that could make the REL work the Turntable?

2. gregr

gregr Forum Resident

I'm no expert, but could it be a subsonics problem? Does the phono stage have a filter for subsonics?

Heckto35 and Vidiot like this.
  3. Dennis0675

I'm pretty sure it just as input for MC or MM and on on/off. I recently added the phono stage rather than using the internal one on the Denon in hopes that would make the correction. It certainly sounds much better but did nothing to help the sub.

4. quadjoe

quadjoe Senior Member