Outer ring record clamps (non-VPI)

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Brian Gupton, Apr 20, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brian Gupton

Brian Gupton Forum Resident Thread Starter

Anyone other than VPI owners use an outer record clamp to help flatten warped records?

I've been looking at the TTW Audio Outer Ring, but at $800 I'm not sure if the improvement is worth it. I definitely have more than my share of slightly warped records.

Anyone use this device or similar? What have your results been?

[​IMG]

Last edited: Apr 20, 2015
  2. EdogawaRampo

EdogawaRampo Senior Member

3. Brian Gupton

Brian Gupton Forum Resident Thread Starter

Yeah, the VinylFlat and similar products are interesting but just take too long. I doubt I'd remember to use it very often.

4. chervokas

chervokas Senior Member

I have no experience with various aftermarket ring clamps on tables not designed with an integral clamp of that type but my Merrill Heirloom was designed with an outer clamping ring and it definitely makes things quieter and tighter vs. using it unclamped....not a huge difference though. But I guess will all kinds of clamping it depends on the platter/record interface you're clamping to and the overall turntable design as to whether it works to terminate vinyl resonances, or by more tightly coupling the record to the platter/mat couples more resonance into the audio chain. The flattening of warps is almost more of a side benefit to something that's principally designed to terminate resonances.

Last edited: Apr 20, 2015
  5. googlymoogly

googlymoogly Forum Resident