Almost Famous or Rock Star ?

Discussion in 'Visual Arts' started by ronm, Dec 20, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lord Summerisle

Lord Summerisle Forum Resident

I had to look up Rock Star, I completely forgot about that film.

2. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

Almost Famous is about as good a movie as you're going to get based upon rock music. As a movie qua movie, it's not a deathless classic, but as a movie about the rock experience, it's just about perfect.

Rock Star's only redeeming feature is its tenuous relationship to the true story of Ripper Owens. Apart from that, it's garbage. Worth one viewing perhaps, no more.

Ironically, both movies have only a tenuous relationship to the real-life experiences they reflect, yet only Almost Famous makes the experience look more interesting than the actual story probably was.

Chris from Chicago likes this.
  3. I think Almost Famous is a great film and the Bootleg Cut is even better.

But I also like Rock Star a lot, I just don't see any reason to compare the two.

Like I said, Almost Famous is a great film and I think that Rock Star is a good movie. There's a difference.

Part of my interest in Rock Star stems from the fact that I remember when it was announced that Rob Halford was being replaced by the vocalist in a Judas Priest cover band. This was a huge deal in my circle of music pals!
    None of us were Priest fans but just the idea that someone from a cover band could one day join the real band they had previously been covering was an unbelievable concept.

Since then, it's actually been happening more often! (ie: Journey, Kiss)

Final note: to the poster who said that the Rock Star story has a "tenuous" relation to the Judas Priest situation. That's actually not true. During pre-production on the movie, members of Judas Priest were actually consulted on the story and interviewed during the script writing process.