Other accounts than Jethro Tull's that Château d'Hérouville was such a HORRENDOUS place to record?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by ParloFax, Dec 22, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ParloFax

ParloFax Senior Member Thread Starter

... in the early 70s? I can hardly believe what I'm reading about it in the "A Passion Play" deluxe version book! Including the "amenities" and staying accommodations... Several other big acts have recorded there in the late 60s/early 70s... What is really that bad?

2. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

It must not have been too bad considering all the great albums that were recorded there, but according to Ritchie Blackmore and David Bowie, it is seriously haunted! :laugh:

3. tmwlng

tmwlng Forum Resident

Elton John recorded three albums there (Honky Chateau, Don't Shoot Me I'm Only the Piano Player and Goodbye Yellow Brick Road) and from the interviews I've heard about it from his angle it was just a cozy place in the middle of nowhere, and the band and the crew and their families lived there while they were recording. But two of these albums were recorded in spring or summer, Honky Chateau being recorded in January. Perhaps it could turn into a spooky place if the weather's crap. That happens to places sometimes.

Plan9, Scooter59, Zeki and 1 other person like this.
  4. ParloFax

Ian Anderson and/or Martin Barre (can't remember at the moment) tell of a horrible bearded matron who served them meat of dubious animal origin, which made everyone in turn sick to his gut, and bottles of red wine with fruit flies in 'em... Their sleeping quarters was a dormitory with the linen unchanged since the previous group/crew's last visit... And studio equipment which broke down all the time...

Sounds like a joke!

dkmonroe and driverdrummer like this.
  5. Tristero

Tristero In possession of the future tense