R.I.P David Bowie: 8th January 1947 - 10th January 2016

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by sunspot42, Jan 11, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

Yes, I agree - I was gearing up for several more years of Bowie releases, maybe at least one more tour. There is a certain similarity with Lennon in that this happens at a time when many of us were expecting a fresh burst of activity. And then the damn plug is pulled out of the wall.

It's astonishing to think of what must have been done to keep his condition secret for over a year. I didn't think people could keep such things secret anymore, but he pulled it off.

2. dkmonroe

I read some remarks from long ago where Bowie ribbed Elton a little bit for ripping him off, but it was quite gentle and good natured, at least by today's standards.

3. Solace

Solace Forum Resident

4. dkmonroe

It's weird to think of it this way, but in a certain sense, the death of anyone is really about those of us who are left to deal with it. Bowie is now beyond our sympathy and compassion - he certainly would have had a ton of it if he had made his illness public - but the rest of us have to take care of one another to the extent that it's necessary.

5. antielectrons

antielectrons Well-Known Member

RIP old friend. Hammersmith Odeon 1973 - where it all ended and all started.

6. theMess

theMess Forum Resident

7. tootull

tootull Looking through a glass onion

http://jethrotull.proboards.com/post/62035/thread

Every man has a black star
    A black star over his shoulder
    And when a man sees his black star
    He knows his time, his time has come

Black star don't shine on me, black star
    Black star keep behind me, black star
    There's a lot of living I gotta do
    Give me time to make a few dreams come true
    Black star

Robin L, Rooster_Ties, drasil and 9 others like this.
  8. Technocentral

Technocentral Forum Resident