SH Spotlight Compression & limiting in recording, mixing & mastering process: What is it? The good, bad, the ugly

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Patrick M, Jan 30, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Amperage

Amperage Forum Resident

EVOLVIST COUNT ME IN! :righton:

EVOLVIST likes this.
  2. Fastnbulbous

Fastnbulbous Doubleplus Ungood

I can understand why people think this though. Watch enough "CSI"-type shows or spy caper movies and you'll invariably run across the geek with a white coat who magically enhances a crappy source, be it a videotape image or audio clip. I'm no audio expert, but I do know something about digital image capture and editing. Contrary to what you've seen on screen, there is no way to "enhance" a blurry image. A filter may make it "look better" but if the information isn't there to begin with, no program in the world will help. I'm assuming the same holds true for audio information but again I'm no expert.

3. Doug Sclar

Doug Sclar Forum Legend

Interesting.

The first time I ever heard a hi-res recording was at Dan Schwartz's house. It was a German baritone singing solo but with the mics at quite some distance. My comments upon hearing it were that it sounded like it was close mic'd because I heard all the breath sounds and lip smacks as if it was a close mic'd recording, but I also head plenty of hall ambiance because it was not.

However, your point about compression bringing up these types of sounds is valid. That's one of the neat things about compression. It can bring up the lower level sounds which normally are not so easily heard.

Sordel likes this.
  4. sathvyre

sathvyre formerly known as ABBAmaniac