Denon PCM Encoding in 1970s. Is it different than Sony CD PCM?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Mr Bass, Aug 7, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Damien DiAngelo

Damien DiAngelo Forum Resident

I'm pretty sure that in discussion on this board previously, it was determined that these CDs of the digitally recorded Denon albums from that era were sourced from an analog tape made during the mastering sessions.
    I could be wrong, I'm no expert. I'm sure I read that here, somewhere.

Plan9 and Mr Bass like this.
  2. Mr Bass

Mr Bass Chevelle Ma Belle Thread Starter

Thanks very much for that info. I will try to verify. Of course out of necessity they had to do a Redbook conversion on the tape even if it was an "analog tape" of the PCM recording.

Damien DiAngelo likes this.
  3. McLover

McLover Senior Member

This was a joint recording venture between Supraphon in Czechoslovakia, and Denon/Nippon Columbia in Japan. A definitive performance of these compositions, and a truly superb sounding recording on this LP and the CD version is also wonderful. I love the Smetana Quartet's work for both labels. A classic! P.S. Denon used a 1" video recorder for storing their digital data from their PCM processor. And the CD is mastered digital from the PCM master sample rate converted if I recall correctly.

kevinsinnott and Mr Bass like this.
  4. Mr Bass

If that is the case there might be a transparency problem depending on the issue date. In the last few years such rate conversions are apparently fully transparent but earlier they were not unless evenly divisible rates were converted eg 88.2k could be converted cleanly to CD but 96k could not.

Billy Budapest likes this.
  5. Damien DiAngelo

Damien DiAngelo Forum Resident

Here is the thread I was thinking of.
    Sounds like I was partially right. Some of them were from tape, some were digital, according to the info in the thread.

Mr Bass likes this.
  6. Mr Bass