McCartney, Wings & "WILD LIFE" POLL:

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Psychedelic Good Trip, Jun 15, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RTW

RTW Forum Resident

I'm new to solo Paul/Wings and I have to say I freaking LOVE Wild Life. What a pleasure to hear Paul doing such relaxed and hooky (but not bombastic) music. I'm moving through the albums chronologically and I just have to say the first three Paul records (McCartney, Ram, this) are really impressive. Indie rock before it was indie rock.

I picked the title track (easily my favorite), "Some People Never Know," and "Tomorrow." My fourth pick would probably be "Dear Friend."

Cost me $20 on CD however. A 1993 remastered CD with bonus tracks, including "Mary Had a Little Lamb" (?!?). What the heck was THAT all about?

OobuJoobu, Mazzy, Piiijiii and 2 others like this.
  2. Frank

Frank Senior Member

I've got a question for the knowledgeable vinyl agnostics (non-enthusiasts) among us. I've never been happy with the way my (original) CD sounds for this one. Very shrill to me, especially in the cymbal tone range, and I'm not really someone who is especially sensitive to that kind of thing. Would I be well served by picking up a vinyl copy of this or it's that just the way it sounds?

3. ohnothimagen

ohnothimagen "Live music is better!"

Wild Life sounds excellent on vinyl. It's a very good sounding, well produced record, but he did have Alan Parsons and Tony Clark behind the console, which probably helped.

4. blutiga

blutiga Forum Resident

Oh yes indeed!! I'd suggest a UK early pressing -11 -1.

5. Piiijiii

Piiijiii Hundalasiliah

Thank you!

And great to see that the title track got so many votes.

There may be tons of threads about underrated Macca stuff but I think "Wild Life" really deserves it ... I love the rawness of Paul's vocals and the guitar work.

6. Arnold Grove

Arnold Grove Senior Member