Vinyl rig upgrades

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by sailingsinkingships, Dec 3, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KT88

KT88 Senior Member

...indeed

-Bill

2. sailingsinkingships

sailingsinkingships Forum Resident Thread Starter

No. I am a graduate student at NCCU in speech and communication disorders by night and a manager at a residential treatment facility for a program that serves the most behaviorally challenged teens of the state by day. I did teach American history to middle schoolers for a few years and will never do that again.

GoldprintAudio likes this.
  3. GoldprintAudio

GoldprintAudio Forum Resident

State grad here, so I was just curious.

4. SirMarc

SirMarc Forum Resident

I'm running Elac UB5's with a refurbished Sansui 9090 and its a match made in heaven. I had a 2k budget for bookshelf speakers, and stopped here. Synergy is a strange thing, and this time saved me a good chunk of money lol.

Not sure 50wpc, is enough to make these things sing though, but it's definately worth giving them a shot...

5. sailingsinkingships

Well I have an affinity for state. A cousin on my dad’s side is married to former head basketball coach Herb Sendek.

GoldprintAudio likes this.
  6. sailingsinkingships

Updated: I have a rega p6 with exact cartridge in transit. After some other equipment sales during the holiday I have close to 500 dollars left to spend.

I was thinking of trying to add a phono to the pioneer vintage receiver. Maybe the rega fono mm for synergy purposes.

I could put that money toward some speakers. I see some Kef q100s at really decent discounts. Maybe the elac debut b6. Those are at the lower end of the spectrum but curious to hear how a newer bookshelf speaker would compare to the pioneer hpm.

I could also get a second hand rega brio r to replace the pioneer. Or possibly another recommended amp.

Where would I see the most gains for the 500 I have left after the rega p6?

7. Gibsonian