Why the Vinyl Boom is Over - WSJ

Discussion in 'Marketplace Discussions' started by seaisletim, Jul 22, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. eddiel

eddiel Senior Member

They were fads. At this point you can't really call Pokemon cards or Beanie Babies fads because they aren't popular enough. That part of their life cycle is long gone. I don't even think they make Beanie Babies anymore.

2. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

They still make Beanie Babies by the ton. My 11 year old daughter collects them. The now- expired "fad" part of it is that they are no longer made in "limited commemorative editions" and pursued by collector adults for big bucks. They're just another stuffed animal brand now.

LP's are just a slightly larger niche format than they were before. People want to label it a "fad" because they think that'll make it all disappear sooner. That's not how it works. Not sure why people want LP's to disappear anyway, it's just another choice, and if you don't want 'em, don't buy 'em.

3. Stone Turntable

Stone Turntable Independent Head

Fads by definition have short lifespans and sharp upward and downward trend lines.

The 21st century vinyl revival is steadier that a fad and bigger than a "niche," unless all you're interested in expressing is an irrational format animus.

EdogawaRampo and dkmonroe like this.
  4. Raunchnroll

Raunchnroll Senior Member

Other fads deserving of study: pizza, video games, se* enhancement products, pocket knives with 32 appendages & functions, Lucky Charms cereal.

dkmonroe and Stone Turntable like this.
  5. Sick Sick Phil

Sick Sick Phil Forum Resident

Actually fads don't have to be short lived.

However, the fact the Urban Outfitters stock records and the fact that a large number of new records are never even played point to a fad.
    My favorite thing is a young person playing a $40 record on a $60 turntable telling me how much better it sounds than a digital file. That is a fad.