YouTube vinyl rip (samples) sound too good to be true?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by digilog, Jan 2, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. digilog

digilog Forum Resident Thread Starter

I'm a newbie here so the explanation may be facepalm in front of me. Still, I take that slap if the result is less confusion!

I'll begin with an example:

Alan Parsons -- I Robot (early 1980's MFSL vs. 2017 MFSL 45rpm).

They both sound quite different. The earlier LP sounds "crisper". More importantly, they both sound quite different. Actually, I've noted that many albums of mid-70s to mid-80s sound crisp.

The most important issue for me is vinyl vs. CD.
    E.g., I have APP--I Robot on almost every CD released (including 1987 MFCD and 2005 Classic Records DVD-A). Compared to my own vinyl copies (as well as the ones vloggers are posting on YouTube), the CD copies sound downright anemic. Same goes for most classic Parsons (and other rock albums of that vintage). More specifically, the CD release has that nasal ("mid-rangey") sound. I know digital is much more capable than this!!

It can't be simply vinyl vs digital for myriad reasons:
    -- YouTube is digital audio streaming 126k-192k (this is big setback for YouTube sound)
    -- I have CDs in my collection that sound much closer to their vinyl release.

So, with albums like classic Parsons, it's gotta be the mastering ... right?

2. vinylontubes

vinylontubes Forum Resident

Fill out your profile. Right now I could say it might be your crappy CD player. But, I have no idea what you are using.

Strat-Mangler likes this.
  3. MaestroDavros

MaestroDavros Forum Resident

A simple answer would be yes, it comes down to the mastering, but in reality the answer is more complicated.