Storing vinyl the proper way

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Kraan, Jan 9, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kraan

Kraan Forum Resident Thread Starter

Hi everyone!

I'm a vinyl rookie (also first post here) as I only bought my first record last February; since then I bought quite a few more! After my first record I immediately bought some outer sleeves but I was not really concerned about the inner *ouch*... Last couple of weeks I became more and more concerned by the way vinyl has to be stored as I saw some scratches appear on new, almost unplayed, records. Therefore, I did some 'internet research' and now I keep my records in the following way:

- outer sleeve: poly (thick sleeve, 150micron) - stored in the way the opening is on the upper side as I found it annoying that my records don't totally stay within the sleeve if the opening is on the right side
    - inner sleeve: polypaper (picture included) - stored in the way the opening is on the upper side within the original album sleeve

Furthermore, I keep my records vertically (some in a Kallux, but as this is not near my turntable, most of them on a bookshelf supported by a book end) and dust them off with a Tonar nostatic brush before 'the needle hits the record'.

Am I doing the right job to keep my vinyl in a good condition or do I have to make more adjustments?
    - at the moment I do not wash the records; should I? New and secondhand ones?
    - I've read a lot about Nagaoka and MOFI inner sleeves; are those even better solutions? (However, I also read stuff about plastic inner sleeve damaging the records??)

Thanks in advance!

[​IMG]

2. Chris Schoen

Chris Schoen Rock 'n Roll !!!

Looks good. I would not go crazy washing records (some folks do...) New records are usually clean, and if they play quietly, I would not wash them. Same with clean, good condition