Van Halen - Van Halen II (1979) - Song by Song

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by GodShifter, Jan 4, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jimmy B.

Jimmy B. isolation can harm you terribly

D.O.A. rules on this album. None come close to it for me.

2. Tree of Life

Tree of Life Hysteria

SPANISH FLY

This is so short that it hardly qualify's as a song IMO.

It's just an intro, nothing more, nothing less into....

D.O.A.

OW!

Jump Back what's that sound?

Ha ha....I love and it continues the streak of greatness that is Van Halen II

Dave sings this a lot different than usual and towards the end it gets going "faster than a speeding bullet"............to the head!

Diamond Dave has come up with some of the greatest one-liners and nuances in his lyrics that no one else has yet to replicate or pull off.

3. GodShifter

GodShifter Forum Member Thread Starter

I probably am. As I said, I’m not good with lyrics.

BluesOvertookMe likes this.
  4. GodShifter

Darn it, I meant to mention “I’m a spark on the horizon !” line as it’s one of my favorites. You did a better job of summing up this song than I did (in far fewer words, too).

5. Zoot Marimba

Zoot Marimba And I’m The Critic Of The Group

D.O.A.:
    And now we reach this bad boy.
    The intro is badass, and while the song is somewhat meat and potatoes, the meat and the potatoes are VERY flavorful on this song, it has so much attitude and conviction and swagger and awesome, and Diamond Dave is so awesome on this song, he's just so badass on this song, Eddie's solo at 1:51 is excellent, Mike is awesome on bass underneath, Al does a great job on the skins, this song is excellent, so much so, it is scientifically proven to increase self esteem

6. GodShifter

Very good observation. I definitely think of “D.O.A” and “Fools” as being cut from the same cloth. Perhaps two of Van Halen’s most heavy, grinding tunes. Less melodic elements and more HULK SMASH!

If you get that comic book reference...