The end of headphones - Tinnitus and portable listening

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Ghostworld, Jan 12, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ghostworld

Ghostworld Senior Member Thread Starter

I have a long history of exposure to loud music. I was a concert photographer when I was a kid and then I went on the be in a garage band, of course there's the whole audiophile thing, too.

The first time I hurt my ears was 1985. I was mixing some of our band's stuff and overdid the volume with headphones. Ears rang all night and hurt like hell for a couple days. Loud noise and, interestingly, talking on the telephone hurt. I treasure my music, so I took it easy after that and they made a full recovery. Never had a problem.

About 20 year years later I got seriously into headphone. Cans, amps, devices. The whole thing. After about two years of this my ears started hurting. I didn't heed the warning and kept listening and woke up with earache and tinnitus. I tried every trick to get rid of it, some were sort of helpful, but the tinnitus nearly drove me mad. Finally, after a year, it passed. I can hear it flair up if I listen at loud levels, I mean pretty loud, so I stopped th at. I'm fine at most movies and my hearing is fine. It's been 12 years since I hurt them.

About three years ago, I got hungry for some new headphones. I bought some Sennheiser over the ear Momentums. After about a week, my tinntus was bad. I took it as a warning sign and sold them.

This Christmas I got a pair of little Senns for Xmas. I was happy. I love portable audio. I put on the Senns and listened to one album at a reasonable level. My tinnitus was IMMEDIATELY SCREAMING.

I guess I'm completely done with headphone.s I gave away those new Senns. I am in agreement with Pete Townshend that headphones are a HUGE culprit in tinnitus. All windmilling in front of stack and he blames headphones? I think he's right.