To SUT or not to SUT with a Denon DL-103?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Benzion, Jan 30, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Warren Jarrett

Warren Jarrett Audio Note (UK) dealer in SoCal/LA-OC In Memoriam

For me it is VERY fun to compare SUTs and find one that sounds the best. They each sound very different, so it's an easy comparison. Right?

I wish you could hear a Music First Audio or Audio Note S4 or above -- not to buy, just to hear. Both are really stunning.

Last edited: Jan 31, 2018
  2. blakep

blakep Senior Member

I've been running current mode/balanced for 10 years now and it would be very difficult for me to consider more conventional phono preamplification now.

But it is probably a pretty tough sell with most audiophiles-it is, at the same time, too tweaky (balanced tonearm lead) and not tweaky enough being plug and play with the the short circuit and lack of ability to mess around with loading.

Once you hear it, though, if it is properly implemented, it is difficult to go back, especially if your entry price is reasonable; say under $2000.

Did you build your stage?

3. Benzion

Benzion "Cogito, ergo sum" Forum Resident Thread Starter

Chances are, it will work well with all cartridges that have similar gain and internal impedance as 103R.

JackG likes this.
  4. John Moschella

John Moschella Senior Member

What technical problems? You take the 47k out and put a bigger resistor in.

I think gain should be the primary driver of a SUT decision (that and quality of wire), you can always fiddle with resistors to get the loading you want.

5. Warren Jarrett

With any SUT designed for MC application, you can change the 47k secondary winding load resistor to a lower value, but not a higher value. Don't take my word for it, ask any transformer expert.