The Data Is In: You Like The Music You Heard When You Were 14

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Shaddam IV, Feb 12, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. My first really serious musical 'love' was Jimi Hendrix, when I was about 16, circa 1985. Including boots and all those horrible Curtis Knight things (and such), I must have had close to 50 Hendrix titles on LP by the time I graduated high school.

Before that when I was about 13-14, I did go through a brief Beatles phase, and enjoyed nearly the entire Beatles catalog (which I made cassette tapes of from LP's belonging to the parents of a couple classmates of mine). And while I did buy some Beatles boots back in my day, I was more interested in them because they were boots, than I really was the music. And to this very day, even though I'm pushing 50, there are more Beatles albums that I've NEVER owned on LP (or CD, or cassette), than those I bothered to pick up. I think I've only ever owned three (3) legit Beatles CD's: Rubber Soul, Revolver, and Abbey Road - plus the 'Love' soundtrack, and all three volumes of the Anthology 2CD sets (and that's it). And I've NEVER actally eer owned a copy of Sgt. Pepper, btw (and how many Steve Hoffman Forum members can say THAT??!!!)

After Hendrix, when I got to college, I immediately discovered Pink Floyd (more deeply that just what'd been on the radio), and I did a deep dive there (including tons of boots back in the day, circa late 80's). And Frank Zappa. And plenty more.