Rega Planar 2 or 3 for a newbie

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by José Vasco, Feb 14, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. José Vasco

José Vasco Member Thread Starter

Hello,
    First of all, I am new to vinyl, so take care,
    I know the Planar 3 is the best turntable, but for a beginner what would you advice, start with a Planar 2 or the 3? I have been listening cd´s for ever,I have a Rega Saturn R so I have litlle experience with vinyl.What I know is that listening vinyl is quite diferente...The amplifier is a Rega Elex R.

2. chrism1971

chrism1971 Forum Resident

If you have the Elex-R you definitely need the Planar 3 (latest model), which in the UK comes bundled with the Elys 2 cartridge. Personally I think this combo sounds great and quite revealing even without the additional power supply, which you can add later if you think you need it. Or the Planar 3 with Exact which is not too good for your amp. Speakers?

Then you need to go and buy some LPs (good luck...)

3. José Vasco

Sorry, is not the Elicit r but the Elex r.
    The speakers are Epos m12

4. Whoopycat

Whoopycat Forum Resident

The 3 has a much better tonearm and cartridge. Well worth the extra money.

5. José Vasco

Here in Spain the Planar 2 with Rega Carbon costs 689€ and the Planar 3 without cartridge 689€.

6. José Vasco

Sorry, the Planar 2 costs 489€

7. punkmusick

punkmusick Amateur drummer

I have never had any of these tables but these are my feelings:

The main reasons to buy 2 instead of 3:

- if it fits your system better or if the benefits of the 3 are not worth the money. I've been told that Planar 3 depends on a good shelf to sound the way it's supposed to for example but I've never been told that the difference in price is not worth it. But I'll leave this for those who actually know these tables and your gear;

- if you can't spend enough for a 3, but then you wouldn't even ask, so not a reason at all;