SONY UBP-X800 universal player

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by High Fidelity, Mar 23, 2017.

1. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

Do you have the player set to power off automatically? I do, and I think it's always done so. I have a couple of SACD's on the Linn Records label that make the player do strange things - the player will stop playing and I have to hit Play again. Also I've left it playing overnight and IIRC the player shut off, but my receiver (which is also supposed to power off after 30 minutes of no use) was still on. Very strange. No such problem with any other discs.

2. sunspot42

sunspot42 Forum Resident

Don't know. I think I might have turned it off last night after play was done. Either way, I wouldn't expect it to get so fried by morning you couldn't even eject the disc or turn the power off.

It did this once before streaming from Amazon, but just sitting there after finishing a disc?

Here's hoping for another software update, but I'm not holding my breath...

ZippyPippy and dkmonroe like this.
  3. ZippyPippy

ZippyPippy Forum Resident

Yep, if only to keep the resets and freezes at bay.

sunspot42 likes this.
  4. DrZhivago

DrZhivago Hedonist

I've had mine for almost a year now. Worked jolly good, until I upgraded to most recent FMW last week. Nothing but the trouble since. Netflix, USB drive, UHD disc all crashed at least once.

5. sunspot42

sunspot42 Forum Resident

There was a firmware update? I haven't gotten one yet. Maybe only for Australia. When was the last time you upgraded the firmware (or had you)? I upgraded mine when I bought it back in October or whenever, but no upgrades since that I can recall (checked for one just yesterday).

6. DrZhivago

DrZhivago Hedonist

I updated 2 weeks ago with the 'September 2017' firmware update. I guess its the one causing everyone a grief.

Regards

7. 360-12

360-12 Forum Resident