How come that Greta Van Fleet got signed?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Mark12345, Apr 16, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. featheredfiend

featheredfiend Forum Resident

...a band that sounds like a cross between STP and the Crowes is not necessarily a bad thing you know! You could do a lot worse than that!!! Just sayin...

(Sorry - I always feel the need to stick up for the Crowes, as they are one of my all-time favorite bands.)

2. Opeth

Opeth Forum Resident

Absolutely, although I never could stand STP i did love the crowes 2nd and 3rd albums. I love tons of bands that have LINEAGE from classic bands but Greta canned plant is pretty lame musically.

Man at C&A and CBackley like this.
  3. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

Because they pull it off better than you buddy did. And/or the timing - slavishly imitating a legendary figure is probably a lot more salable these days because fewer young people are well-familiar with the original.

CBackley and Crimson jon like this.
  4. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

I heard the STP influence right away.

5. JozefK

JozefK Forum Resident

Yawn Pawl Yones, Yawn Bawnam, all of them

6. Jerquee

Jerquee Take this, brother, may it serve you well.

The singer definitely has the Plant thing down while looking like he walked straight out of an 80s teen movie. I find the music to be shallow and naive. It sounds like ordinary kids with mediocre talent. The music of the best timeless bands who started young always had a depth and maturity despite their age. Plus, there was innovation. These guys don't have any of that, just a singer who can sound exactly like Plant.

I don't see it having any longevity.

7. chacha

chacha Forum Resident In Memoriam

I never noticed that thread either. Is that a problem?

musicarus, guppy270 and bzfgt like this.
  8. ndoheny

ndoheny Forum Resident