Pink Floyd RSD 2018 (mono Piper)

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by rontoon, Mar 5, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. andrewskyDE

andrewskyDE Island Owner

It probably is my bad memory again but I remember from some interview (Rick? Roger?) that he could've been shy also. Of course this maybe cannot be accurate.

dkmonroe likes this.
  2. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

Perhaps people who came into contact with him during his near-catatonic stage of life concluded he was merely shy. Glen Buxton of Alice Cooper said that he hardly ever said anything but he could communicate telepathically! He said he would find himself passing things to Syd at the table that Syd never asked him for verbally, and Syd would accept them with a look that said, "Thanks, man."

andrewskyDE likes this.
  3. Devilscucumber

Devilscucumber Forum Resident

There was also some mention of a flatmate? sleeping in the next room, who woke up with the distinct impression that Syd's thoughts had invaded his head and he was thinking a in a disjointed ping-pong fashion plus there were a few similar cases, (not saying that acid wasn't involved), but at least 4 or 5 mentions of his ability to communicate mentally on some level.

Sort of get the feeling that Syd was behaving like an intermittent connection, where if the factors became unfavorable he disconnected. The first BBC Session in Dec '67 shows with a bit of sleep he was good again, until the pressure built up....

dkmonroe likes this.
  4. Gill-man

Gill-man Forum Resident

I certainly think having a predisposition to mental illness may be why his amount of use may have had more debilitating results than those who used similar to more amounts than he did. Plus, everyone’s different, especially mentally. There seems to be no set amount that guarantees psychological issues. I’m sure there are people out there who could be permanently psychologically damaged from one trip.

5. Devilscucumber