Sony UBP-x800 - DSD Question

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by dkmonroe, Nov 14, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jeffmackwood

jeffmackwood Forum Resident

Interesting. The Seagate hard drive that I just tried is formatted NTFS - as is the USB stick that's playing right now - both without a problem. There's no mention of either NTFS or FAT32 in the owner's manual (I did a text search of the pdf.) Sony's usually pretty good at pointing those things out in their manuals - if and as necessary.

Jeff

formu_la and dkmonroe like this.
  2. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot Thread Starter

Hmm. It's been several months now since I experimented with it but I coulda sworn that I read it in the manual, but sure enough it isn't there. Perhaps someone here gave me that tip. In any case I found that when I hook up a USB drive that's NTFS, I can see the folder structure but not the files. When I use a FAT32 drive, I see everything and can play tracks. I actually took a USB stick that was NTFS and it wouldn't play, then I re-formatted it as FAT32 and copied the same files to it and it did play. Neither of my NTFS-formatted 1TB drives will play but I don't care enough to wipe and reformat them.

formu_la likes this.
  3. Where are you? I have the European-Spanish bought version of the X-800 plays any kind of stereo or DSD, Wav or FLAC multichannel on a NTFS USB flash drive or hard disc, either conventional/mechanical or Solid State.

formu_la likes this.
  4. dkmonroe

I'm in the US. I see @jeffmackwood is in Canada, maybe it's a US-specific thing. I dug into my old posts and saw that my source for the FAT32 solution was from online research, not the manual. Frankly, after I'd done my NTFS v. FAT32 test and only FAT32 passed, I haven't tried to use the feature again. With my setup (computer connected directed to A/V receiver and integrated amp) I don't really need to use the feature.

5. RoyH

RoyH Active Member