Opinions on Floorstanding Speakers - Budget $4K

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by TheVinylAddict, May 6, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheVinylAddict

TheVinylAddict Look what I found Thread Starter

Any Focal Electra owners, like the 1028Be?

They are 4 ohm and look power hungry on paper... but interesting build.

2. kdejonge

kdejonge Forum Resident

H8SLKC likes this.
  3. I listened to Focals and loved them a lot but they were the ones that retail for around 11k pair.

I visited my dealer recently and they stopped selling Focals. Apparently some sort of dispute. Those snooty French :tiphat:

808_state and H8SLKC like this.
  4. head_unit

head_unit Senior Member

As a loudspeaker designer, I say "nonsense" from a standpoint of the physics of sound radiation. It depends on much more than just bookshelf versus floorstander. I firmly believe there is some kind of psychological thing going on: "Oh it's smaller, like the higher frequency wavelengths, so it must be better for that" and/or "They're more "specialized" for mid and treble so must be better for that" which again is just not supported by physics.

And I'd agree with both of these statements. In more budget lines, the step-up price from a bookshelf to a tower is quite large, and you can find cheap stands from $50 on Amazon. Once you're hitting oh I dunno like $1500+ which I've been auditioning with friends, I don't feel any lack of soundstage or imaging. I do feel a lack of fullness and, well, BASS BASS BOOM BASS (OK, not the BOOM part :p) in the bookshelf models-even the Dynaudio Contour 20 (and my friend would add the Special 40).

PhantomStranger and punkmusick like this.
  5. Obligatory break in the action shot of 4K ish speakers in their natural habitat.

[​IMG]

6. head_unit

head_unit Senior Member