Alternatives to Discogs for purchasing vinyl?

Discussion in 'Marketplace Discussions' started by dougotte, May 13, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dougotte

dougotte Petty, Annoying Dilettante Thread Starter

After two years, I decided to stop purchasing from Discogs. While I've had some good experiences, the bad ones have become more numerous. Many times, the title I want is only available from Europe, and the postage often costs more than the disc. Then, the seller usually advertises it as NM and clean. When I receive the disc, it's often unplayable due to visible and audible scratches.

I'm mostly interested in electronic (e.g. Tangerine Dream), 80s rock (e.g. John Foxx) and classical (especially 20th Century or later). The first two categories don't seem to be popular enough for new reissues, so I search for original releases.

Any suggestions for other sources of classic vinyl? Thanks.

Mr Bass, cporcp, Lucca90 and 4 others like this.
  2. PretzelLogic

PretzelLogic Feeling duped by MoFi? You probably deserve it.

3. jon9091

jon9091 Master Of Reality

4. vinylontubes

vinylontubes Forum Resident

Music Stack. I think the site is declining. But it's viable. Of course there is still eBay.

5. Bryce

Bryce I drank what?

I’d just stick to Japanese pressings purchased from Japanese sellers that have at or near 100% feedback (on Discogs). That’s as close as you can get to a sure thing when purchasing used vinyl. Shipping is expensive, yes, but if you buy a bunch at one time the hit per LP is less.

Joe Rice likes this.
  6. fortherecord

fortherecord Senior Member

I for one, have never liked buying Records online or through the mail. Buying and collecting is a seeing and holding kind of thing one only gets at a shop or a record show.

7. AlmostHeavenWV

AlmostHeavenWV The poster formerly known as AlmostHeavenWI

I still buy more from Musicstack than Discogs, plus I like that they do a feature on record shops from around the world.