Classical Corner Classical Music Corner

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by George P, May 29, 2015.

1. shnaggletooth

shnaggletooth Senior Member

I'm currently taking piano lessons, and learning how to sight read is a challenge, even for "easy" pieces like Schubert's "Standchen". From what I've read about Richter, even though his father was a musician, he was still largely self-taught as a pianist and could quickly sight-read long, complex pieces before he finally got some formal instruction. This guy was a genius.

George P likes this.
  2. coopmv

coopmv Newton 1/30/2001 - 8/31/2011

Not sure if any of you have ever played around with WMP 12, or the Windows Media Player that came with Windows 10. I have been ripping many CD's in the FLAC format after deleting the previous MP3 version within WMP. I also downloaded some free app that is supposed to ensure FLAC compatibility, i.e. WMP would automatically recognize the FLAC files. I also ripped 115 CD's to a 32 GB USB thumb-drive for my 16-year old nephew who likes classical music, all within my WMP (never got to use EAC, which appears to have a relatively steep learning curve). Here is the tricky thing. I tried to rip the Tchaikovsky Symphonies Nos 5 & 6 from the following twofer last night. Unfortunately, the first two movements of T5 are on the same disc 1 as T4 and the last two movements from T5 are on disc 2 with T6. I was not able to recompile them on my computer, i.e. putting all the T5 tracks together and assigning them to the same album. I suppose I was really bumping up against some copyright issue. When I tried to create the playlist from the "rearranged" T5 tracks, I got the message "WMP did not recognize the file format". This could mean the WMP could only deal with the MP3 format, but I am not sure. Anyone here cares to share some insights or experience?

[​IMG] [​IMG]

Kundera the joke. likes this.
  3. coopmv

I only know about his Bach WTC's ...

4. J.A.W.

J.A.W. Music Addict