LoVE's Forever Changes 50th anniversary celebration. Music, book...

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by lemonade kid, Sep 22, 2017.

1. tlake6659

tlake6659 Senior Member

Is the mastering different for the alternate stereo mix and bonus tracks compared to the 2 disc deluxe edition? More compression, etc?

2. auralden

auralden Forum Resident

I believe this review answers your question - click here.

3. Bob J

Bob J Forum Resident

Sounds like you've talked yourself out of grabbing this. If there's not enough "new" material here for you, I understand that.

4. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

Since I have two previous Rhino reissues on CD (expanded single CD and the 2-CD "Collectors Edition"), the driving motivation for my purchase was to get the new Bruce Botnick remaster on LP. But that was enough! :D

5. Bob J

Bob J Forum Resident

It was enough for me too and even though I have an original mono pressing, I wanted that on CD as well.

dkmonroe likes this.
  6. JuanTCB

JuanTCB Senior Member

Found a vendor selling it for $53 new so I finally bit the bullet. The DVD reviews swayed me!

7. rnranimal

rnranimal Senior Member

Same mastering for the alternate stereo mix album. Wonder People alternate mix has peaks shaved vs the 2001 CD (this track appeared on the alternate mix cassette but was not included in Steve's mastering of the alternate mix album. The 2008 2CD included the original mix of this track while the 2001 CD included the alternate mix). I can't remember if I did any comparisons on the 4th CD material.

8. The Elephant Man

The Elephant Man Forum Resident

I’ve been such a fan of this album for so long that I would buy it if Rhino put ‘Forever Changes’ flexi-discs on the back of Quisp cereal boxes.

9. lemonade kid

lemonade kid Forever Changing Thread Starter