Elvis Presley the Albums and Singles Thread *

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by mark winstanley, Aug 15, 2018.

1. mark winstanley

mark winstanley Certified dinosaur, who likes physical product Thread Starter

How Do You Think I Feel
    Another great song, that manages to incorporate a slight Latin feel into its structure. This song still fits into the context of rock and roll beautifully and also manages to draw upon musical inspiration from outside of its realm really well. Again we have some very nice understated guitar and everything works together well to create another great song and a good way to finish an excellent second album.
    Although I have some minor contentions with song choices, all the songs work well, it structurally works well and we manage to get a good spread of what it is that Elvis does, and does so well.

2. Joseph Marshall

Joseph Marshall Interstellar Burst...

First, hello everyone! I'm a newbie, so forgive me if I break a house-rule of which I'm unaware. That said, I'm excited Elvis is the subject of my first post.
    Now to the point, I've never really thought of Presley as an "album" artist. Weren't his albums all merely singles compilations or the dreaded soundtracks? And of course after a certain point his albums were simply continuous rehash compilations via Tom Parker's ever increasing greed (generally consisting of the not so great tunes). The number one thing that angers me in regard to the musical output was the stupid Hill and Range publishing agreement which severely limited Presley's choices. Hill & Range's publishing catalog IMO wasn't exactly filled with imaginative, creative, modern, exciting tunes fitting of Presley as his career went in to the 1970s. Every once in awhile they'd snag a good one from an outside writer, a-la Burning Love. The colonel screwed Elvis over in so many ways it's disheartening.

3. artfromtex

artfromtex Honky Tonkin' Metal-Head