Free: some questions about their discography

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by no time, Jan 27, 2018.

1. no time

no time Forum Resident Thread Starter

I really like the way "The Free" plays blues-rock, psychedelic, syncopated, melodic, aggressive.... I'm not an expert on this band, so I have some questions:

-- Tons Of Sobs / Free / Fire And Water / Highway / Free At Last / Heartbreaker / Free Live! all remasters with bonus tracks + Live At The BBC (2CD) / Fire And Water (Deluxe Edition)(2CD) / Songs Of Yesterday (5CD Box), these CDs contain the whole production or is there something else?

-- Paul Rodgers - vocals, Paul Kossoff - lead guitar, Andy Fraser - bass, Simon Kirke - drums is the classic line-up, in which tracks there are variations respect to this line-up? For example in "Mourning Sad Morning" Chris Wood plays the flute, but who plays the piano in "My Brother Jack"? Heartbreaker album then is very complicated.... Thanks

kees1954 likes this.
  2. jcarr73729

jcarr73729 Forum Resident

Your list sums up the official bundle of releases.
    There may be the odd rarity or session missing, but nothing essential.
    To go beyond your list would take you into live recordings and other unofficial stuff.

3. Flaming Torch

Flaming Torch Forum Resident

I agree with this. The 2016 remasters on cd and vinyl are excellent but you do not get the bonus tracks.

4. Psychedelic Sounds

Psychedelic Sounds Forum Resident

The compilation Free - Molten Gold: The Anthology 2x CD (1994) is worth adding.
    IT was only released on CD and cassette.
    It is an excellent collection and the sound quality is very nice. Mastered by Joseph M. Palmaccio.

Eric Weinraub, ibis, Octavia and 7 others like this.
  5. Psychedelic Sounds

I don't recommend any of the 2001 remasters. I bought Fire And Water and it was remastered 'loud' and had a harsh sound quality.

abzach and kees1954 like this.
  6. Psychedelic Sounds

I recommend Free - Molten Gold: The Anthology (1993)