Farewell to OPPO Digital

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by SamS, Apr 2, 2018.

1. jjhunsecker

jjhunsecker Senior Member

I had the Oppo 93, which sounded great as a CD player. Now I have the 203, and the sound is even better. It's almost like an extra octave of bass has been added to most of the CDs I've played. I'm not very technical, so can anyone explain why the difference in sound between the models.

2. The Beave

The Beave My Wife Is My Life! And don’t I forget it!

Go for the Yamaha 1060 Jerry. Like the OPPO y o u can actually use it without the remote after you've set it up ( in my case for two channel Stereo) because, unlike the Sonny, it has all the relevant controls on the front panel.
    Plus it has XLR connections for audio, all for $349 refurbished from Accessories 4Less. When available.
    When I got mine they got in 3 units and it took a week for them to sell out after I bought mine.
    But if your an OPPO owner beware that you WILL have some shock when you unpack the thing, it just isn't even in the same physical league as an OPPO 203.
    But it does most of what that unit does if you don't require 7.1 analogue outputs and it does look kinda nice.
    Beave

Jerry likes this.
  3. The Beave

Me neither, I just bought a 105 from a member here.
    Beave

4. SandAndGlass

SandAndGlass Twilight Forum Resident

My understanding was that the 93 and 103 shared the same DAC, which sounded fine with movie sound of both DVD's and Blu-ray disks. For whatever reason, which I am still at a loss to understand, regular CD's sounded pretty bad when being inputted into the processor through the HDMI interface of the 93 and the processor.

The issues might have had to do with the DAC in the processor, which was an Emotiva XPA-1, I really could never seem to figure it out.

I bought the new 203 because it was being discontinued and a 2nd slightly used one for a back up and retired my 93.