Speaker stand spikes - necessary?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Porkpie, Nov 8, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. F1nut

F1nut Forum Resident

In my personal experience every speaker I've owned sounded much better spiked regardless of the type of floor. The bass tighten up and the mids became clearer.

The worse performance I've experienced is when the speakers sit directly on padded carpet. I'm left wondering how the SD damping feet are much different than padded carpet?

Last edited: Nov 9, 2018
    George P likes this.
  2. wolfram

wolfram Slave to the rhythm

I've been using these "Antispikes" on wooden floors for many years now and I'm very happy with this solution.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

SandAndGlass likes this.
  3. Thomas_A

Thomas_A Forum Resident

Whether the sound is ”better or not” is subjective so there is no point arguing about that. The physics of spikes vs soft feet are known since many years now, but misinformation still circulates. It is long accepted that the resonance of a arm/catridge should not be in the audible spectrum and the same principle applies to loudspeakers. If you want to avoid resonance and speaker movement you should keep the resonance outside the audible spectrum. Spiking the speakers does not help in that regard.

bever70, Riotvan and missan like this.
  4. SandAndGlass

SandAndGlass Twilight Forum Resident

I had tried those little discs under the bottom spikes of a pair of Zu, Omen Definition's which weigh 75-lbs. each.

I did not like the lack of stability and moving the was very difficult.

I personally do do care for spikes. With Zu speakers there are ports on the bottom of the cabinets that requite the space the width of a CD case, in order for them to function within their full range properly.

I removed the spikes and placed acorn nuts on the bottom of the cabinets.

I do believe that, in general, speakers should be raised off the floor, but not all speakers require doing that.