Micro scratches with Sleeve city diskkeeper

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by 12" 45rpm, Mar 2, 2017.

1. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

I use Diskeeper 2.0 sleeves and the rounded bottom sleeves and they have no abrasive effect at all from what I can see.

2. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

If they can leave visible scratches on an LP, after a few years of removing and re-inserting the LP they could become audible. What's not audible now could be serious damage later.

3. jon9091

jon9091 Master Of Reality

Perhaps the way some people remove a record out of the sleeve makes them more prone to these types of micro abrasions. I literally reach in and put my fingers under the label area, while the edge of the record is resting against the base of my thumb...then pull the sleeve away with the other hand. But the sleeve is so bowed open by my hand being inside it...it barely touches the record sliding in or out. Now, if someone was grabbing with two fingers by the record edge and just pulling/sliding the record out...I could see how more scuffing and abrasions could occur.

stenway, Machiventa, kronning and 6 others like this.
  4. AaronW

AaronW Senior Member

I cleaned this record, it had a perfect shiny surface, put in a Sleeve City Ultimate Inner, immediately removed it to find these marks. Tried again with a mint $1 record and confirmed the issue. Rub your hand over the surface of the inners and you can feel the rough spots/imbedded particles. These are completely absent on the old VRP inners they were modeled after or the round bottom Japanese inners.
    [​IMG]

5. AaronW

AaronW Senior Member

Better question, why would you want to replace your inner sleeves with ones that cause damage, audible or not?

H8SLKC likes this.
  6. Mr.Sneis

Mr.Sneis Forum Resident

Ocd record talk, I like.