Pass Labs Amplifier Fantasy

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by mds, Nov 21, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mds

mds Forum Resident Thread Starter

I had a CJ preamplifier prior to switching to the Backert. I really loved it's sound but felt it ran through tubes a little too fast and it did give me some tube hiss at the tweeters. CJ solid state certainly is something to consider.

2. mds

I have a Threshold solid state preamplifier, it is a fantastic piece. I don't seem to find many Threshold amplifiers for sale though.

3. mds

Don't think First Watt will do justice to the bass in the Reference 3 speakers but I have no experience with the amplifiers so I will rely on your expertise if you think differently.

4. mds

There is a person who rebuilds them and I had sent my pre to him to recap it. The recap price seemed fare and the unit came back quickly and sounded great! For this reason if I were to find a Threshold amplifier I might give it a try if the price was right, but had to be a great savings otherwise I would purchase a Pass Labs used.

Mad shadows likes this.
  5. mds

Not sure I would do a DIY considering my soldering is not too neat. It would be fun to try but maybe too expensive for a first shot.

6. mds

Not sure this is in the Pass Labs category, not trying to be a snob but I do want to make this my last purchase and my fantasy budget is around $6K. Hopefully in the next 6 months I can pull this off but am now trying to figure out my power requirements and to determine if it needs to be class A or AB in design. Thanks for the suggestion and I am sure they are fine amplifiers.

7. mds